Indian T20 Cricket 2019: Resurgent Bangalore face Mumbai challenge

Having finally gotten off the mark in IPL 2019, Royal Challengers Bangalore will look to build on the momentum when they face Mumbai Indians in match 31 of the Indian Premier League at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Monday.

Bangalore won their first game when they easily beat Kings XI Punjab at Mohali on Saturday. Mumbai, on the other hand, go into the contest having lost to Rajasthan Royals on Saturday. They are still third on the points table with eight points, tied with KKR, DC and KXIP while RCB are placed last with just one win.

Bangalore's victory was built around two solid knocks by their talisman Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, both of whom hit fifties. While that is good news, they would still want contributions from the others. Parthiv Patel and Moeen Ali have done a good job in parts and they will now look to do better.

With Dale Steyn joining the RCB squad, their bowling will be bolstered to some extent. Navdeep Saini has been impressive with the ball for Bangalore while Yuzvendra Chahal has brought all his experience into play. It's upto the others to raise their game now.

Mumbai may have lost to Rajasthan Royals, but they have some good power in the batting which has succeeded really well. Quinton de Kock has been in great form while skipper Rohit Sharma came back well from injury. Both Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya have done brilliantly as finishers.

It is bowling which let the team down against Royals. If you take away Krunal Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah, the others haven't been as consistent. They would be seeking more match-winning efforts from Alzarri Joseph while the rest also need to raise their game.


Mumbai Indians: Siddhesh Lad, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Alzarri Joseph, Jason Behrendorff, Jasprit Bumrah, Anmolpreet Singh, Aditya Tare, Evin Lewis, Yuvraj Singh, Pankaj Jaiswal, Anukul Roy, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McClenaghan, Barinder Sran, Rasikh Salam, Jayant Yadav

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Parthiv Patel, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis, Moeen Ali, Akshdeep Nath, Pawan Negi, Tim Southee, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Heinrich Klaasen, Himmat Singh, Colin de Grandhomme, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Milind Kumar, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Prayas Barman, Umesh Yadav, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dale Steyn

--By A Cricket Correspondent